Virginia Beach Assault Defense Attorney

Down-to-Earth Legal Counsel and Assertive Trial Advocacy in the Eastern Shore

At Top Tier Law Group, we are keenly empathetic to defendants facing criminal charges. Our attorney personally understands the overwhelming stress and passionate fight to come back from a charge. We have also worked with defendants from all walks of life, and we are particularly passionate about defending the members of our military in Virginia Beach.

Whether you have been accused of misdemeanor or felony assault, or if you have been charged with domestic violence, Top Tier Law Group is more than prepared to fight for your defense. We will provide laid-back and down-to-earth legal guidance as we discuss your legal situation. Our attorney has handled hundreds of trial cases before, and he will strategically use his former public defender experience as he advocates for your side.

Schedule a free consultation with Top Tier Law Group online or at (757) 500-0035 to learn more about how we will help.

When You Need An Attorney,
You Want Matthew T. Morris

Our Clients Are Our #1 Priority
  • Innovative Approach

    We believe that each case is a unique situation and needs a unique approach. We work with our clients to come up with a tailored solution that will suit them best.

  • Experienced Attorney

    Attorney Matthew Morris has served as a public defender and handled hundreds of criminal cases including assault, larceny, rapes & robberies.

  • Highly Regarded

    Top 10% of our class, and we have been regarded by judges as one of the most talented litigators in the Hampton Roads Area!

  • Passionate Defense

    A talent and a passion for defending the rights granted to every citizen by the United States Constitution.

Assault Offenses in Virginia

In Virginia, assault is a crime that can be committed by:

  • performing an overt, physical act intended to cause physical harm while having the present ability to inflict harm; or
  • performing an overt act intended to place the alleged victim in fear of bodily harm and actually placing them in reasonable fear of harm.

Assault can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the severity of the offense. Generally, simple assault is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines. Hate crimes, or assault against an individual based on their race, nationality, religion, etc., is also a Class 1 misdemeanor, but if the offense results in bodily injury, it will be charged as a Class 6 felony punishable by 1-5 years in prison and up to $2,500 in fines. Assaults against protected employees in the performance of their duties (law enforcement officers, medical personnel, judges, correctional officers, firefighters) are charged as Class 6 felonies with a required minimum sentence of 6 months in jail.

Top Tier Law Group Top Tier Law Group
He treats you as family and will go above and beyond for you to make sure you get the best outcome in each situation.

Domestic Assault Crimes

Domestic violence is a serious assault crime that could also result in misdemeanor or felony penalties. The law defines domestic violence as committing any act against a family or household member that involves violence, force, or threats and that results in physical injury or places the family or household member in fear or harm. Note that “family or household members” include:

  • spouses and former spouses;
  • parents;
  • children;
  • grandparents;
  • grandchildren;
  • siblings;
  • in-laws residing in the same home;
  • people who have children together;
  • people who cohabit or had cohabited together in the past year.

Be aware that a police officer may make an arrest without a warrant if they have probable cause to believe that a person has committed an act of domestic assault. 

In most cases, domestic assault is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines. If the defendant has two or more prior convictions for domestic assault or a similar crime, though, they will be charged with a Class 6 felony punishable by 1-5 years in prison and up to $2,500 in fines.

It is also a crime to violate a domestic violence protective order that the alleged victim has filed against the defendant. Such a violation might be in the form of contacting the petitioner or going to a prohibited place that the petitioner goes to, such as their workplace. A violation of a protective order is a Class 1 misdemeanor, though a third or subsequent conviction is a Class 6 felony. 

Assault charges can be complex to navigate because they may be either misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the specific situation. If you have legal questions about what charges you are facing and the potential penalties, contact an experienced attorney at Top Tier Law Group. We can get started on your trial defense immediately and tackle your case head on, misdemeanor or felony.

Call (757) 500-0035 or contact Top Tier Law Group online for a free consultation to learn more. 

Protect Your Rights & Best Interests

Everyone Deserves a Lawyer that Puts Their Needs First
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
Get to Know Attorney Matthew T. Morris